6 Museum Cottages in Sheringham, Norfolk
Situated at the edge of town on a high cliff with magnificent views, this refurbished property is ideal for two people. A traditional high street with a wide range of shops and cafes is just a short walk away.
There is a good selection of shops and pubs as well as the Sheringham Museum. The north Norfolk railway with its steam trains is nearby, as is Felbrigg Hall and Gardens.
The Old Lifeboat House
The Museum, known locally as “The Mo” is on the seafront and houses an extraordinary collection of historic fishing boats and lifeboats. Also a number of exhibitions on the history of Sheringham and its rich heritage.
Sheringham first had a lifeboat when the Upcher family paid for a private lifeboat, called the Augusta. The RNLI supplied a boat, the Duncan, in 1867 and for many years both sailed together, often with good-humoured rivalry between their crews.
During the 1900’s a shift occurred, the focus moving from cod and herring to crabs, lobsters and whelking. The Foresters Centenary was on station from 1936 until 1961 and during that time she was launched 129 times saving 82 lives. The Manchester Unity of Oddfellows (ON 964) replaced her in May 2009. It is displayed alongside the other Sheringham lifeboat, the William Bennett.
The Old School House
The town of Sheringham is home to a flinty beach resort with all the hallmarks of an old-fashioned seaside town. Its high street is a hive of ice creams, crab sandwiches and postcards. It also plays host to a carnival that runs annually since 1950 and a lobster festival, first held in 1994.
Felbrigg Hall is a 17th century country house that is one of Norfolk’s most visited attractions. It has a magnificent walled garden, orchards and 500 acres of parkland.
Sheringham Museum (called the ‘Mo’) is an independent charity which tells the fascinating story of the town and its people. It has an impressive collection of artwork, including primitive paintings by John Craske and embroideries by Olive Edis. It also has a unique exhibit – the remains of a German Zeppelin L4 bomb that crashed into a house.
The Old Post Office
The museum is a moderate walk from the town centre and there are several pay-and-display car parks close by. Buses stop close to the museum, and there are also regular rail services to Sheringham.
The building was originally a post office and money order office and later the home of award-winning photographer Olive Edis (1876 – 1955). She was an extraordinary woman – an artist, world traveller, music critic, and the only female member of the Royal Photographic Society to visit WW1 battlefields.
Sheringham is the premier seaside town on the north Norfolk coast and attracts thousands of visitors each year. Its beautiful floral displays have won it Britain in Bloom awards, its beaches are sandy and backed by dunes and cliffs, and its nationally acclaimed museum on the sea front is well worth a visit.
The Old Town Hall
Sheringham has become the premier seaside town on the North Norfolk coast with 1000s of tourists visiting each year. It has a golden sandy beach, gardens that have won Britain in Bloom awards and a nationally acclaimed museum on the sea front.
In the 1800s a railway line was built which improved community life significantly. It allowed fish to be taken to market more easily and also brought in a lot of tourists.
The town centre is mainly Victorian with many buildings made from flint, not normally used in Norfolk. It has a small square, Otterndorf Green, named after the town’s twinning with the German town of the same name. There is a memorial to the townspeople killed in both world wars on a traffic island at the junction of the Boulevard, St Nicholas Place and the Esplanade.
The Old Church
The town centre is centred on a traditional high street. It has a good selection of privately owned shops ranging from second-hand books to antiques and bric-a-brac. There is also a large pay-and-display car park.
Sheringham is known as the premier seaside town on the North Norfolk coast with 1000s of visitors visiting the area each year. Its beauty has won it Britain in Bloom awards. The golden sandy beaches, its beautiful floral displays and the historic Sheringham Railway all attract people.
The memorial to the men and women of Sheringham who died in the two World Wars stands on a traffic island at the junction of the Boulevard, St Nicholas Place and the Esplanade. It is of Clipsham stone and has the Latin motto Mare Ditat Pinusque Decorat (The Sea Enriches and Pine Adorns). The inscription is written in a stylised script by Oliver Edis.